American President- An Interpretation by Larry Sutherland

American President

American President gonna mess your mind
American President, he gonna mess your mind
American President gonna mess your mind
American President gonna mess your mind

Say A, say M, say E
Say R, say I, C
Say A, N

American President gonna mess your mind
American President gonna mess your mind
American President gonna mess your mind

American President, get away from me
American President, let Canada be

Don’t come spying around my door
I don’t want your propaganda ’round here no more

I got more important things to do
Then spend my time going to war with you

Now American President, I said stay away
American President, listen what I say

American President, get away from me
American President, let Canada be
Don’t come spying around my door
Don’t want your propaganda ’round here no more

Shock and awe can hypnotize
Drone attacks can be a deadly surprise
Now American President, I said stay away
American President, listen what I say

American President, said get away
American President, listen what I say
Don’t come spying around my door
Don’t want your propaganda ’round here no more
I don’t need your killing machines
I don’t need your bloody battle scenes

Shock and awe can hypnotize
Drone attacks can be a deadly surprise
Now American President, get away from me
American President, man, let me be

Go, gotta get away, gotta get away
Now go, go, go, I’m gonna leave you
Gonna leave you
Bye-bye, Bye-bye, Bye-bye, Bye-bye
You’re no good for peace
I’m no good for war

You’re no good for peace
I’m no good for war

Tell you what I’m gonna do
You know I’m gonna leave
You know I’m gonna go
You know I’m gonna leave
You know I’m gonna go

I’m gonna leave you
Goodbye, American President

Adapted from American Woman: Written by Randy. Bachman, Burton. Cummings, Gary Peterson, Michael Kale.
Released by the Guess Who in 1970.

Leave a Reply

